Redress Design Award



The Redress Design Award (formerly the EcoChic Design Award) is the world’s largest sustainable fashion design competition. Organised by Redress, the competition works to educate emerging fashion designers around the world about sustainable design theories and techniques in order to drive growth towards a circular fashion system. By putting sustainable design talent in the global spotlight, the competition creates a unique platform for passionate and talented fashion game-changers to transform the global fashion industry and rewards the best with career-changing prizes to maximise long-term impact. 


Each competition cycle takes participants on an educational journey lasting several theory and design-packed months. We work to educate designers about fashion’s negative environmental impacts, whilst inspiring them to use the core sustainable design techniques of zero-waste, up-cycling and reconstruction to cut waste out of fashion. Through our lectures, Academies, online LEARN platform and educational work in partnership with more than 100 universities around the world, we provide young designers with the theory and techniques to help them understand the new circular economy and capitalise on its global potential for the fashion industry. 

We then challenge participants to flex their creative genius and prove that they have the ingenuity and conviction to transform textile waste into stunning, scalable and commercially viable collections that will inspire and redress the world. 

In 2018, after seven highly successful cycles, the competition re-launched with a fresh new look and name change: Previously known as the EcoChic Design Award, the new Redress Design Award directly reflects the work of Redress itself and our overarching mission to reduce textile waste and ultimately fuel a circular system for fashion. 

Our competition cycles to date:
2011: Inaugural cycle in launches in Hong Kong
2012: Second cycle in Hong Kong
2012: Inaugural cycle in Mainland China
2013: Inaugural international competition cycle open to Hong Kong, Mainland China, Taiwan, Singapore, UK, France, Belgium and Germany
2014/15: Competition expands to include Hong Kong, Mainland China, Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia, UK, France, Germany, Denmark and Sweden
2015/16: Fifth anniversary cycle expands to all countries in Asia and Europe
2017: Cycle opens to designers all Asia, Europe and for the first time, the USA
2018: Competition opens to be truly global